Gluten is the protein found in many varieties of grain. Gluten can be found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale. Just in the category of wheat alone, there are several sub-categories of grains: wheatberries, durum, emmer, semolina, spelt, farina, farro, graham, KAMUT® khorasan wheat and einkorn. Gluten is the glue that helps maintain the shape of your dough when baking. Gluten is sticky and keeps moisture locked into that yummy loaf of bread that you're making. This is the reason why gluten-free baked goods are more dry and fall apart easier than their gluten counterparts.
Yes, there are foods you can commonly find wheat (and other gluten containing grains). Here is a list of common gluten-containing foods:
In what foods can you commonly find wheat?
Where else can you find wheat besides the obvious places you would find grains? Wheat can hide out in a variety of foods you wouldn't expect. In order to be gluten-free, you'll need to level-up your label reading! Here are a list of unexpected foods which contain gluten:
This is not an end all, be all list. There are other food items which contain gluten. Be a consistent label reader! Gluten hides out in other unexpected places as well. If you would like more information, check out the website link in the references section.
From your travelling gluten-free foodie,
For great advice on how to travel gluten-free, grab my Guide to Traveling Gluten-Free on Amazon today!
What is Gluten? (n.d.). Retrieved January 04, 2017, from https://celiac.org/live-gluten-free/glutenfreediet/what-is-gluten/
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.