Answering Questions About Which Types of Alcohol Are Gluten Free
Is there gluten in wine?
Generally, unflavored wine does not contain gluten. Grapes are gluten-free, and the fermentation process is as well. However, there is a potential for cross-contamination when it comes to fining the wine, the process of clarifying wine. Some substances added to the bottle in fining could potentially contain gluten, and traces could stay behind when drained. These amounts are much lower than the FDA’s maximum amount of gluten a product can contain and still be labeled gluten-free, but could be harmful if you’re Celiac. Some wine barrels are also sealed by wheat paste, which can contaminate the wine. The levels of gluten in these barrels are far below the regulation set by the FDA, but again, if you’re Celiac, this might be an issue. Depending on your gluten sensitivity, you may want to research the wine brand before you drink it, to make sure they don’t use fining agents that contain gluten or seal their barrels with wheat paste.
Unflavored wine is considered gluten-free, but not all wine-related drinks are gluten-free. For instance, you should avoid wine coolers, because they’re often made with barley malt, which of course contains gluten. It’s also best to steer clear of flavored wine and wine cocktails. Stick to unflavored wines such as cabernet sauvignon, merlot, pinot grigio, and sauvignon blanc, and more!
Does Michelob have gluten? Is Miller Lite gluten-free?
Michelob and Miller Lite are both very clear on their websites about the ingredients they use. Yay! Unfortunately, neither of them are gluten-free. Michelob ULTRA and Michelob ULTRA Pure Gold both contain barley, and Michelob ULTRA Amber Max contains rye. Miller Lite uses barley malt. Sadly, all of these grains contain gluten. If you’re offered one of these cold ones at a summer barbecue, it’s best to steer clear!
Is bourbon gluten-free?
Distilling bourbon removes gluten, even if the bourbon started out with a gluten source such as wheat, barley, or rye, so pure distilled bourbon is considered gluten-free. That being said, some bourbons add flavoring afterwards that can contain gluten. Plus you may have a reaction even if the gluten is distilled out - it honestly depends on the person. Some gluten-free people can drink bourbon to their heart’s content, and others may have a reaction. Trust your body when it comes to enjoying bourbon!
Is tequila gluten-free?
Pure distilled tequila is considered gluten-free. It’s made from the sugars in blue agave plants, which do not contain gluten. Just be sure there aren’t any added flavors because some flavorings can contain gluten. But if your tequila is pure, distilled tequila, it is considered gluten-free and should be safe even for Celiacs. Break out those margaritas!
Is whiskey gluten-free?
The answer to this is the same as the answer to whether bourbon is gluten-free. Whiskey is technically considered gluten-free because of the distillation process, though it’s possible you could still have a reaction. Bourbon is actually a type of whiskey, with strict parameters on how it’s made, so it makes sense that the answer for them is the same. If you want a Jack and Coke, take it easy and pay attention to your body.
Whether you’re dining out or eating in, pairing a meal with a little alcohol can be a fun and tasty treat. So go out and enjoy the alcohol of your choice without worry of being glutened!
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.