What You Can Eat On a Gluten-Free Diet
Let’s face it, when we want a tasty dessert, eating gluten-free, shall we say, can be challenging to put it mildly. Unless you are eating at a dedicated gluten-free restaurant, dedicated bakery, or a gluten-free friendly establishment, your choices of gluten-free desserts can be limited to none.
When we are eating in a category other than desserts, our food choices are much more diverse and far-reaching. With so many food choices, eating gluten-free can be fun and push us out of our box to explore and create new dishes and desserts. Being gluten-free can even make us an advocate for gluten-free that tastes good!
When you’re out and about, whether shopping or dining, keep this list handy! Although extensive, this is not a complete list of all gluten-containing foods. Your best defense is to be an informed, excellent label reader and check out the label before you buy every time you shop. Don’t ever assume that a jar of nuts or trail mix doesn’t have gluten because it says gluten-free on the box. Make sure to read through all the ingredients, then look to see if there is a warning for cross-contamination.
What you CAN eat on a gluten-free diet
Foods that are listed below are listed in their natural state. They are not seasoned, in mixes, or mixed with other food, spice, or liquid food matter.
What You Should NOT Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet: Foods to Avoid
These foods are a BIG NO-NO if you are eating gluten-free, especially for an allergy, gluten intolerance, or celiacs disease. Stay away from these foods: pretend they are the light you want to move away from at the end of the tunnel!
Foods to use cautiously because gluten can be a sneaky ingredient...
Gluten can be sneaky and show up in foods you would never suspect. Gluten is used as a filler and thickener in many foods. Why? Gluten is easy, cheap, and readily available. Wheat flour can be where we least likely expect it to be (and usually when we least WANT gluten to be in our diets).
For example, I was at a soft-serve yogurt bar, and half of their yogurts listed gluten as an ingredient. The good news is, the gluten-free flavors were labeled at this one shop. Now you’re talking! If everyone would just label their food, the world would be a better place, now wouldn’t it?
Where Gluten Hides - Read the Ingredients Label
Double-check these foods before you eat them as gluten has a way of sneaking into the foods we don’t expect, but we are smarter than gluten now, aren’t we?
Condiments, drinks, and dressings
Snacks and supplements
When you feel that you aren’t able to eat anything, and that feeling is real, remember to focus on the positive - the foods you can eat. In actuality, there are more gluten-free foods than foods with gluten, especially when it comes to raw, whole foods. Remember to stick to the outside aisles of the grocery store, as these aisles usually have more gluten-free choices than the inside aisle - unless it’s a gluten-free aisle!
Links and Resources
Grab the Guide to Traveling Gluten Free
Get the BEST all-natural gluten-free travel cosmetics at Lemongrass Spa!
Visit my Travel Deals page on my website
Support Travel Gluten Free on Patreon
Journey with Travel Gluten Free on Social Media
Twitter Facebook Youtube Pinterest Instagram On the Web
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.