Whether you are celiac, gluten-intolerant, have acquired Hashimoto’s or another autoimmune disorder, your doctor may have told you to stay off of gluten. The fact is, the protein in gluten really pokes at your immune system. You may be wondering how your grandparents and great-grandparents ate as much gluten as we did and they were perfectly fine.
The fact is, our grandparents not only ate a different type of gluten, but they ate much less gluten.
Gluten is Water-Soluble
In addition, scientists figured out a way to make gluten water soluble, which is why gluten is now found in many sauces, dressings and glazes. Being water soluble, gluten can now be placed in a myriad of foods in different forms. Gluten is now widely available in sauces, dips, and dressings. We are getting doses of gluten in formats we have not had available previously. Basically, if the product is a liquid which needs to be thickened, water soluble gluten in the form of _______ is a readily available and economic solution to create thicker liquid forms of food.
Where Does Gluten Hide?
Gluten hides in many different foods - foods that you wouldn’t expect such as rotisserie chicken, peanuts and beef jerky. Gluten disguises itself under code names which you may not understand or be aware of! Here are common places and names which gluten can hide under:
Maltodextrin - unless specifically made from corn or potato, maltodextrin comes from wheat gluten. Although the FDA claims there is not enough gluten in maltodextrin to make a person with celiacs disease sick, that person from the FDA forgot to mention this to my digestive track when my system ends up dumping everything out during the next 48 hours.
MSG - stands for Monosodium Glutamate - do you see the gluten now?
Some don’t have Celiac disease but could have allergies relating to the consumption of wheat, and some could also have a gluten intolerance.
An estimated 1 in 100 people worldwide suffer from Celiac disease. It is an inherited autoimmune disorder. An autoimmune disease is where the body protects itself from an allergen by attacking its own healthy tissues. This can occur genetically to people where the ingestion of gluten will cause their immune system to destroy their Villi, fingerlike parts of our small intestine that are responsible for absorbing nutrients.
Gluten helps bind and shape foods by creating elasticity, or simply, it is a substance present in cereal grains, especially wheat, that is responsible for the elastic texture of dough that makes our breads chewy.
Maybe now, you’re already wondering about the different gluten-free grains out there. Are there many of them, and how they compare to the more common gluten-containing grains that we know?
So, we list down the grains with gluten and gluten-free grains to help you.
Grains that Contain Gluten
Grains with gluten are proved to lower the risk of heart disease, lowers cholesterol, and glucose level for diabetics.
These are commonly found in the following:
2. Barley is found in:
3. Rye is found in:
4. Triticale: Triticale flour may replace wheat or rye flour in making bread.
5. Malt is usually found in Malted Barley Flour, Malted Milk And Milkshakes, Malt Extract, Malt Syrup, Malt Flavoring, Malt Vinegar
6. Brewer’s Yeast: This is also usually used in the production of beer and bread
It is concluded that a person on a gluten-free diet can still enjoy eating good food. There are a wide variety of gluten-free grains that could serve as an alternative.
In addition to this, grains with gluten have undeniable benefits for our health, though some of the said benefits and nutrients could also be found in gluten-free grains.
It is highly important to read the labels before purchasing a product, as some gluten-free grains such as oats may be contaminated by gluten if processed in the same facility as grains with gluten. Some products that are labelled gluten-free may also contain more refined grains and starch.
Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.